Travel News

What Are Co-Terminal Airports? | Prince of Travel

What Are Co-Terminal Airports? | Prince of Travel

Quite a few major cities around the world are served by more than one airport. When this happens, these airports are known as co-terminal airports, or co-terminals for short. 

In technical aviation terms, “co-terminals” refers to a set of one or more airports that are interchangeable when issuing tickets; meanwhile, in the world of award travel and redeeming your miles for flights, co-terminals open up several possibilities for your award redemptions that may not be obvious at first glance.

This article will sum up everything you need to know about leveraging co-terminal airports to expand your range of possibilities when booking trips on points.

List of Co-Terminal Airports

First of all, here’s a list of co-terminal airports around the world with commercial air service. While the list isn’t exhaustive, it should cover the most significant co-terminal groupings worldwide.

People in the frequent flyer community often communicate in IATA airport codes, and you’ll notice that there are two types of IATA codes in this list: the individual airport codes for each airport, as well as metropolitan codes for a few major cities, which encompass all the airports in that city. 

North America

  • Chicago (CHI): Midway (MDW), O’Hare (ORD)

  • Dallas: Dallas/Fort Worth (DFW), Love Field (DAL)

  • Houston: Bush Intercontinental (IAH), Hobby (HOU)

  • New York (NYC): JFK (JFK), LaGuardia (LGA), Newark (EWR)

  • South Florida: Fort Lauderdale (FLL), Miami (MIA), West Palm Beach (PBI)

  • Toronto (YTO): Billy Bishop (YTZ), Hamilton (YHM), Pearson (YYZ)

  • Washington, DC (WAS): Dulles (IAD), Reagan National (DCA)

South America

  • Buenos Aires (BUE): Aeroparque (AEP), Ezeiza (EZE)

  • Rio de Janeiro (RIO): Galeão (GIG), Santos Dumont (SDU)

  • São Paulo (SAO): Congonhas (CGH), Guarulhos (GRU), Viracopos/Campinas (VCP)


  • Istanbul: Istanbul (IST), Sabiha Gökçen (SAW)

  • London (LON): City (LCY), Gatwick (LGW), Heathrow (LHR), Luton (LTN), Stansted (STN)

  • Milan (MIL): Bergamo (BGY), Linate (LIN), Malpensa (MXP)

  • Moscow (MOW): Domodedovo (DME), Sheremetyevo (SVO), Vnukovo (VNO), Zhukovsky (ZIA)

  • Paris (PAR): Charles de Gaulle (CDG), Orly (ORY)

  • Stockholm (STO): Arlanda (ARN), Bromma (BMA)


  • Beijing (BJS): Capital (PEK), Daxing (PKX)

  • Jakarta (JKT): Soekarno-Hatta (CGK), Halim Perdanakusama (HLP)

  • Osaka (OSA): Itami (ITM), Kansai (KIX), Kobe (UKB)

  • Sapporo (SPK): New Chitose (CTS),…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Prince of Travel…