Travel News

Iguazu Falls: The Natural Wonder of South America

Iguazu Falls by Gabor Sz via Unsplash

Iguazu Falls in Argentina & Brazil – All You Need to Know

If you’re looking for a breathtaking natural wonder to add to your travel bucket list, look no further than Iguazu Falls. Located on the border of Argentina and Brazil, this massive waterfall system is considered one of the largest in the world. With over 275 individual falls spanning nearly 2 miles, there’s no shortage of awe-inspiring views to take in.

Iguazu Falls by Gabor Sz via Unsplash

The falls are formed by the Iguazu River, which winds its way through the surrounding jungle before plummeting over the edge of the Paraná Plateau. The result is a stunning display of water cascading down into the river below, creating a deafening roar that can be heard from miles away. The falls are surrounded by lush rainforest, home to various wildlife, including monkeys, toucans, and jaguars, making it a popular destination for nature lovers and adventure seekers.

Iguazu Falls, Brasil by Jaime Dantas via Unsplash
Iguazu Falls, Brasil by Jaime Dantas via Unsplash

Geographical Location

Iguazu Falls is located in the border between Brazil and Argentina, and it is considered one of the most spectacular natural wonders of the world. The falls are in the Iguazu River, which flows through the Iguazu National Park, a protected area covering approximately 2,530 square kilometers.

The Iguazu River is formed by headstreams rising in the Serra do Mar near Curitiba, southern Brazil. The river flows westward and northward, creating a natural boundary between Argentina and Brazil. The falls occur along a wide span where the river tumbles over the edge of the Paraná Plateau before continuing its course in a canyon.

The Iguazu Falls are approximately 23 kilometers above the river’s confluence with the Parana River at the Brazil-Argentina border. The falls may be reached from two main towns, with one on either side of the falls: Foz do Iguaçu in Brazil and Puerto Iguazú in Argentina, as well as from Ciudad del Este, Paraguay, on the other side of the Paraná River from Foz do Iguaçu. Each of those three cities has commercial airports, making it easy to access the falls from different parts of the world.

The falls are part of the Iguazu National Park, divided into two sections: the Puerto Iguazu National Park in Argentina and the Foz de Iguazu National Park in Brazil. The park is home to diverse flora and fauna, including jaguars, ocelots, toucans, and howler monkeys. The park is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site, recognized for its unique natural…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Out of Town Blog…